We were up early and checked out of our hotel well before the museums opened in Corning NY, so we decided to walk around this quaint little town and explore a little.
Corning is a city in the New York Finger Lakes region that offers several worthwhile attractions — certainly enough to spend a whole day exploring!
|On the left is Corning Inc.’s world headquarters.|
|The buffalo bursting out of the Rockwell Museum is named
Artemus (for “art is a must”), and is the museum’s mascot. The museum is
housed in Corning’s Old City Hall, which was built in 1893.
Although Corning is now known for glass, the area’s first real industry was lumber. The first settlers used the area’s river systems to transport logs and finished lumber in fleets downstream to buyers. At one time the mills of the Corning area were reputed to be among the biggest in the world. After the lumber was depleted the great mills moved north to new forests.
|Originally built for the Boston Store, this building features a basket weave design
made of terra cotta, an Italian term that means cooked earth. Terra cotta was
widely produced in Corning after 1889, when the Corning Brick Works opened.
|50 feet high with a bell that weighs 1400 pounds, the clock tower was once a favorite watering stop for local horses.
Built of Antrim stone found locally, the clock tower in Centerway Square is a memorial to Erastus Corning.
Eventually, Corning became known as the “Crystal City,” in part because companies such as Hawkes, Sinclair, and Hunt produced some of the finest American Brilliant Period cut glass between 1880 and 1915.
|Mountain as Metaphor, 2011, painted by High School Learning Center students in a partnership between HSLC
and the Rockwell Museum. Climbing and descending a mountain represents a person’s journey through life.
The heart of Market Street is Centerway Square, a pedestrianized central square with a covered bandstand and public benches for public concerts and events. A restored historic clock tower serves as Centerway Square’s focal point.
|This beautiful Victorian building, built in 1885, was designed by, and originally
housed the offices of, H.C. Tuthill, Corning’s most famous architect and master builder.