|The Crispell Memorial French Church is a reconstruction of the 1717 stone church that was
used by the Huguenot families for both worship and education. The current structure was rebuilt in 1972.
Historic Huguenot Street, in New Paltz NY, is one of the oldest, continuously occupied European settlements in America, dating back to the last three decades of the 1600s. The homes were built on the banks of the Wallkill River by Huguenot settlers fleeing discrimination and religious persecution in France and what’s now southern Belgium.
|The Abraham Hasbrouck House was constructed in phases between 1721 and 1734,
and was built for farmer and community gristmill owner Daniel Hasbrouck and his widowed mother, Maria.
The house museums of Historic Huguenot Street are in their original village setting. Historic Huguenot Street was preserved when one of the owners — and descendants of the original settlers — transformed their home from the old farmhouse style into a Victorian showpiece. That house — the Deyo House — still stands in its Victorian splendor. Ironically, the individual who was responsible for the home’s transformation was a founding member of the organization.
Unfortunately, because of the pandemic, we were unable to tour the insides of the buildings; we settled for simply exploring the historic street and enjoying the architecture, reading about the buildings as we walked by.
The 1799 House and its interiors suggest that New Paltz
inhabitants became more cosmopolitan in the early years of the United States.
Seven stone houses and accompanying structures form the 10-acre National Landmark Historic District.
|Freer-Louw House was built in stages, startin g in 1760.|
Archaeological finds indicate that the area settled by the Huguenots was originally occupied by Native Americans — the Esopus — prior to European contact. Historic Huguenot Street reminds visitors of that complicated history with a recreated Esopus Munsee Wigwam, erected in 2017.
The first stop on your walking tour or upon arrival should be the DuBois Fort House, which currently serves as Historic Huguenot Street’s visitor center and museum shop
|This structure was originally built around 1705 for Daniel DuBois and
may have served as a community fort, to be used “for a place of Retreat and Safeguard.”
Getting there: 81 Huguenot St, New Paltz, NY
Hours: Check the website below. The area is open for individual exploration during daylight hours, but the visitors center and tour times vary.
Looking for other daytrip ideas within the area? Check out the following articles!
- Five Locks Walk at the D&H Canal
- Foundry Park
- Hudson Highlands State Park (Cornish Ruins Hike)
- Madam Brett Park
- Minnewaska State Park Preserve Rainbow Falls Hike
- Sojourner Truth Driving Tour
- Shawangunk Scenic Drive
- Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Site
- Widow Jane Mine
Or head to New York Daytrip Destinations to find other great things to see and do in New York!